On This Day In Baseball History: November 8, 1983

Dale Murphy


Atlanta Braves outfielder Dale Murphy is named National League MVP for the second consecutive year joining Ernie Banks (1958 & 1959), Joe Morgan (1975 & 1976), and Mike Schmidt (1980 & 1981) as the fourth player to win back-to-back NL MVP awards. The Murph played in all 162 games, scored 131 runs, and led the NL with 121 RBI, .540 slugging percentage, and a .933 OPS. He also won a Gold Glove for his outstanding work in the field.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s