On This Day In Baseball History: November 12, 2012

Mike Trout


Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim rookie outfielder Mike Trout is the BBWAA’s unanimous selection for AL Rookie of the Year becoming the youngest player to ever win the award, three months younger than Lou Whitaker when he won in 1978. Trout’s MVP-caliber rookie season started a debate between the “new school” sabermetrics community and the”old school” traditional statheads who preferred Miguel Cabrera‘s triple crown winning season to win the MVP, which he ultimately did. Nevertheless, Trout joined Carlton Fisk, Mark McGwire, Sandy Almoar, Jr, Tim Salmon, Derek Jeter, Nomar Garciaparra, and Evan Longoria as the only players to be unanimously selected as AL Rookie of the Years.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s